Till the Wheels Come Off


Easter
April 17, 2012, 12:00 am
Filed under: 2309, Friends, Kid speak, Love, Photo

Easter is definitely a big deal around our house. Rocco has been looking forward to it since January. I’m not even sure why, but he was completely willing to skip Valentine’s Day and go straight to Easter egg dying. We wanted to capitalize on the fact that he was so into it, so Tom told him the story of Easter. Rocco’s recap of the story went something like this, “Yea! Jesus and God was good. He sang songs and was kind. Then bad people were mean to him and killed Him for 3 minutes, but then He came back to life so we could have EEEEAAAAASSSSTTTEEERRR! Yea!” It was in that moment that I totally understood how the Easter bunny and chocolate eggs version took off.

We had a fun day earlier in the week, friends came over, we dyed eggs, made cookies and decorated them, and had an Easter egg hunt! Don’t look at my counters, please. We made play dough the day before and there is still flour in my grout. Tile in my kitchen? Never again. I digress.

We went to church Sunday morning, came home for a snooze, then spent the rest of the day with family. It was lovely.

We will continue to have fun every year, but I really want my son to know, to understand what Jesus did for him. There will be egg dying, and cookie baking, and chocolate hunting, but there will also be seeds planted that will one day grow into gratefulness. This song gets me every time, and reminds me of the real reason we celebrate this day each year.

In Christ Alone

In Christ alone my hope is found,
He is my light, my strength, my song;
this Cornerstone, this solid Ground,
firm through the fiercest drought and storm.
What heights of love, what depths of peace,
when fears are stilled, when strivings cease!
My Comforter, my All in All,
here in the love of Christ I stand.

In Christ alone! who took on flesh
Fulness of God in helpless babe!
This gift of love and righteousness
Scorned by the ones he came to save:
Till on that cross as Jesus died,
The wrath of God was satisfied –
For every sin on Him was laid;
Here in the death of Christ I live.

There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain:
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave he rose again!
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me,
For I am His and He is mine –
Bought with the precious blood of Christ.

No guilt in life, no fear in death,
This is the power of Christ in me;
From life’s first cry to final breath.
Jesus commands my destiny.
No power of hell, no scheme of man,
Can ever pluck me from His hand;
Till He returns or calls me home,
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i love it. i so enjoying hearing about your love for rocco to know what jesus did for him and those words to that song got me with emotion this morning. thanks for sharing.

Comment by constantandloyal




Leave a Reply

