Till the Wheels Come Off


No big deal birthday.
April 19, 2012, 8:26 am
Filed under: Family, Friends, Love, Photo

Let’s be honest. I have never had a no big deal birthday. Every single year of my life, the people who love me have made my birthdays so much fun and so worth looking forward to. This year it fell on Easter, and since Rocco was all about that very important day, I wanted to keep it special and celebrate my birthday before or after. Well, it worked out just fine! Friday, Saturday AND Monday were so fun! On Friday, we hung out as a family until 3:00 when we took Roc to my parents’ so that my mom could send us on a birthday date. When we left the house, we stopped at the mailbox… a package from KAYLEE! Yippee! I was so excited to see what she had sent, and let me tell you, she took care of me! An outfit for our baby girl, spring nail polish, gold Saltwater sandals, two Moleskine notepads, new pictures of the girls, Oreos (duh) and Easter treats for Rocco!

Thank you, Kaylee girl, you know me well.

Ok, back to my mom’s date. She had it all worked out: she handed me a gift bag, I opened it to find all kinds of old school candy, even Juicy Fruit gum! It also had a gift certificate for dinner, a CD of songs titled ‘A walk down memory lane,’ two tickets to see Titanic and 3D glasses! I couldn’t wait to pop that CD in and see what she came up with. You really have to know your kid to be able to recall the songs she loved 15 years ago, don’t you think? She hit the nail on the head too, the CD was filled with R.E.M., Sarah McLachlan, Shania Twain, and Celine’s ‘My Heart Will go on’  made it on there of course. We just laughed and remembered making out to these terrible songs; he must have really liked making out with me to listen to Celine Dion. This date was really perfect because back in 1997 when Titanic came out, I was all kinds of ‘in love’ with the man I am now married to. When I watched it three times in the theater and Leonardo DiCaprio was on the screen, I swore that he looked exactly like Tommy; my dream was to look like Kate Winslet AND we shared the same name, I mean, you can see the similarity here, right?! When you are 17 and foolishly smitten, it’s very easy to make these connections. We took our 3D glasses, and candy (a few Oreos too, thanks Kay!) into the theater and were transported back from the first moment the movie started. My perspective was a bit different now. When Leonardo appeared, all I could think of was, “Conner looks JUST like him!” Definitely not the same when all you can see is your husband’s little brother. Let me show you what I mean.

Anyways, after the movie was over, we hit up McCormick & Schmick’s for their late night happy hour…something we used to do all the time before Roc came along. It was a perfect evening, we drove home listening to our mix CD, grateful that we, and all of the people in our life (especially our parents!) can laugh now at how incredibly immature and selfish we were as teens. We knew from a young age that we were meant for each other, but to say we could have done things differently is the understatement of the year. I’m so thrilled that Tommy was and is the one for me and that we have such a long history. We pulled into our driveway, and just had to make out, you know… for old times’ sake.

The next morning I woke up fully rested to sunshine, flowers, coffee, breakfast in bed and a love note. That is the perfect way to wake up, let me tell you!

I stayed in bed till about 10 when I knew it was time to do something: donuts, coffee and breakfast all before your feet hit the ground is just not good for a person. We went straight to the gym and ran (ok, fine… I walked) on the treadmills, did a few other exercises and left there a little after 11. It was so beautiful that we decided to go for a bike ride when we got home. We’re just a couple of regular athletes! (I wish.)

We took the afternoon easy and then met up with just a few friends for dinner. Drinks and appetizers at Earl’s and then dinner at Din Tai Fung!

Erin, we’re cute matching friends. Thank you for sharing your birthday with me. I love love love you.

The next day was Easter, and since I already posted about that here, I won’t make this post longer by repeating it. You’re welcome.

As if those fun times weren’t enough, my mother-in-law came over at noon on Monday so that the party could continue. I am so grateful, I really am. I got a massage, a manicure & pedicure with my mom and a friend, visited Kortney at the hospital, then met up with some of my favorite people at Black Bottle for a spontaneous ladies night out.

Turning 32 (yikes!) was fantastic. Party on, people. Party on.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Kate I loved your post! Going down memory lane was fun with you. You are one blessed lady. So fun!!!!

Comment by Katie Stevie

I loved this post! You are seriously one beautiful lady – inside & out for sure! Xoxo.

Comment by anthea

One of the best things that I see reading your blogs is how present to your blessings you are. You enjoy them while you are living them and not speeding past them to have to reminence about them later. You are a great example on how to love the life God gave us.

Comment by Amanda Cox

This post is evidence to the great wife, mother, daughter and friend you are! You are–and have been- such a blessing to know! You deserved to be so blessed because you are that very thing to so many! Love you friend!!

Comment by Linda Cline




Leave a Reply

